Apple Byte

File Jun 03, 11 40 22 AM


When iPads first came out I didn’t see a need for them. Then as technology, business, media and lifestyle habits evolved around it the need grew and I found myself thinking it might be nice, if only it did more like DRAW. Once Apple announced the iPad Pro and Apple Pencil I was convinced I needed one, then the reviews and critics came.

I tend to stay away from purchasing any 1st generation products and after doing my homework and learning about all the features other Apple devices had that the iPad supposed “Pro” didn’t have, I hesitated again until….the 9.7″ was released. Ah! Some of the kinks worked out and a lot more mobile. Seeing the benefit of having a go between device amongst my Macbook Pro and lugging that around town and my iPhone 6s, I’d compared the two various times in the stores, flip flopping back and forth but given the above I pulled the trigger.

I’ve had the iPad Pro 128gb Wifi version in Space Gray with an Apple Pencil for 24 hours. First take-aways go like this:


PROS:

iOS – Love the side by side feature/multitask feature that lets you have two apps running next to each other. Especially if I want to draw from a photo even though this makes my drawing space quite small.

Pencil – I don’t see the point of having an iPad Pro unless you get the pencil. That is really the main selling feature of this thing. I owned a Wacom Intuos Bamboo in the past and returned it. It didn’t feel natural at all and having spent years drawing by hand with traditional tools I couldn’t adjust. The Pencil got it right. The only thing I wish I could do is tilt it to a more acute angle akin to the way you use a charcoal stick or a pastel.  The Procreate app is amazing. I’ve only used others like Adobe Sketch in the store but Procreate is the rave with good reason.

Size –  I can really see the 12.9″ sucking to carry around and use in public. It’s only  very slightly smaller than a 13″ Macbook. Also if I wanted to draw on the train or in a cafe I don’t really want people looking over my shoulder, and it’s not something you can really hold with one hand for too long. One of the main considerations here that I’ve also heard from other sources is if you’re going to use the big iPad Pro mostly at home that’s perfect. If you want to take it around with you, stick with the 9.7″.

Camera

It’s nice. Better than the iPad Pro 12.9 in every way. I think my iPhone 6s is a little better as it does have slightly higher tech as well.


CONS:

iOS – No Force Touch! I understand theres a reason why force touch isn’t in the iPad Pro (supposely the supply for the screen tech couldn’t meet the demand of both the 6s and iPad quantities) and I didn’t think I would care, but after using it on my 6s here’s what I miss. First, using Force Touch on the keyboard to activate the curser and move it around like a mouse pointer to my selected spot in a body of text vs trying to pin point it the old way with my big finger. I have the wifi only iPad Pro thus I will be accessing the wifi setting a lot depending where I am. So it would be nice to have force touch on that

No calculator! Steve jobs didn’t like the one they were going to ship it with so it was scrapped. 3rd party calculators. Included with iOS 10? Maybe we’ll find out during Apple’s WWDC next week.

Writing/Typing – Since I am accustomed to having a full-size keyboard with me, probably form a life of always having my MacBook with me or sitting at a desk I’m probably biased. Typing on this feels a bit awkward, and you can’t type on it flat on a table like a regular keyboard at least I couldn’t very well but I imagine this is pretty universal for tablets and not why people buy them. Nothing like the speed and efficiency of my regular computer keyboard but I realize they aren’t the same tool.  Though I don’t see myself using the tablet outside of essential writing when needed.

Photos for email – This is a bit of a one-off, but I was testing what it was like to write a whole email on it using my thumbs on the screen keyboard holding it with both hands like picture frame. I never noticed but you cant take a photo directly from composing an email. For example when you’re composing a text you can use the camera to take a new photo specifically for that text as you write it. Not so with email. You can only attach already taken photos or completely exit the app, take a pic, then go back to email, and attach. Lame.

The Pencil – I really don’t like the way the pencil has to charge in the lighting port. Its awkward and makes handling the device impossible until it has enough power to unplug again. So if u have to charge ur pencil for the said emergency 15 minutes you have to put your iPad down and come back which sucks if you’re in the middle of something but I guess hey, make a coffee, walk your dog, but I don’t see how you can use it with that pencil sticking out.  I don’t think Steve Jobs would ever have approved that either, I believe he would have said, “no, it should have a magnet charge capability on one of the edges or scrap the pencil. No eraser.

iPad as a drawing tablet (like a Wacom) – I haven’t tried this yet, mainly because app to enable this feature, AstroPad, costs 30 bucks. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/astropad-drawing-tablet/id934510730?mt=8 . I wish the App Store would let you try before you buy, even 24 hours would be a huge perk for me. And if you don’t delete it or cancel then they would charge you. C’mon Apple.

Final Thoughts – If you can, I would say get one. I’m interested to see what they decide to to with a 2nd generation 12.9 in the next year or so, but for me my interest lies only in having more space for illustrating. I hate how Apple will include features in one piece of equipment but not another. I don’t have a need for the new Macbook (non-pro) but with only a single port for EVERYTHING that is not universal and they don’t include an adapter? What the hell? I don’t think Jobs would have allowed that at all.

I don’t know what’s going on at Apple lately. I wanted to reject the idea that it was Jobs passing on that instigated this somewhat pause in innovation and perception of sub-standards vs. the Apple that Jobs was running. Some of their decisions regarding devices, whats included, target users, what users want and compared to prior “wow’ factors things feel really flat or that they’re stressed out and are just trying to make stuff just to make stuff. That said, until they can make laptops and devices into virtual holograms, I think the has reached a somewhat stalemate at the moment on what we can do outside of processing power and screens. I mean really and whole heartedly agreeing with George Costanza re: toilet paper, “what else can they do?”. But that isn’t a justification for Apple’s weirdness.

PS. I had hoped to do a full unboxing YouTube as a design related channel debut but in light of where I’m at currently, it would have been below my standard. Soon my pretties!

Leave a comment